Next Meeting

April 3, 2024


Physical Location:
777 Arnold Drive #210, Martinez, Ca  94553

Hybrid Meeting Link:

To download the packet and agenda, click below:


Library Commission

The Contra Costa County Library Commission was established by the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors in March 1991. The Commission was created to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors and the County Librarian. The Library Commission is comprised of 24 voting members and 4 non-voting (ex-officio) members:

  • Eighteen members representing the cities/towns in Contra Costa County - these Commissioners are appointed by the city/town councils (Richmond does not participate)
  • Five members represent Contra Costa County - each member of the Board of Supervisors appoints one Commissioner
  • One member representing the Central Labor Council
  • Four Ex-Officio members representing the College District, East Bay Leadership Council, Office of Education and the Friends Council

The Commission application, interview, and appointment procedures vary for each city/town or special district. If you would like to express your interest in serving on the Library Commission, please contact the appropriate appointing authority for your community.

Scroll down to view vacant positions.

Library Commission Contact Information

Staff Liaison: Walter Beveridge


phone: 925.608.7730

General Inquiries:

Contact the Library Commission

Library Commission Meeting Schedule 2024

  1. Thursday, March 21, 2024, 6 PM
  2. Thursday, May 16, 2024, 6PM
  3. Thursday, July 18, 2024,
  4. Thursday, Sep 19, 2024, 6 PM
  5. Thursday, Nov 21, 2024, 6 PM

Commission Members

John M. Huh, Ph.D.
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Antioch

Linda Sendig
Alternate: Vivian Faye
Represents: Brentwood

Jacalyn Ferree
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Clayton

Tommy Smith (Commission Vice-Chair)
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Concord

Nicole Gemmer (Commission Chair)
Alternate: Robert Sanguedolce
Represents: Danville

Michael Fischer
Alternate: John "Barry" Koops
Represents: El Cerrito

Donna Rennie
Alternate: Jo Ellen Marcotte
Represents: Hercules

Mary Ann Hoisington
Alternate: Dorothy Walker
Represents: Lafayette

Matthew DeFraga
Alternate: Jim Dexter
Represents: Martinez


Emily Bergfeld
Alternate: Amenda Kung
Represents: Moraga

Kevin Armonio
Alternate: Arnold Fitzpatrick
Represents: Oakley

Shrikant Garde, Ph.D.
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Orinda

George Pursley
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Pinole

Zelda LeFrak-Belleci
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Pittsburg

Julia Dozier
Alternate: Richard Means
Represents: Pleasant Hill

Antonio Mendrano
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: San Pablo

Michel Masuda-Nash
Alternate: vacant
Represents: San Ramon

Jasun Molinelli
Alternate: Heather Lurvey
Represents: Walnut Creek

Rachel Rosekind, Ph.D.
Alternate: Frederick Page
Represents: District 1 (Gioia)

Susan Hildreth
Alternate: Michael Swernoff
Represents: District 2 (Andersen)

Alternate: Clifton Louie
Represents: District 3 (Burgis)

Sue Hamill
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: District 4 (Carlson)

Dennisha Marsh
Alternate: Robin Eckert
Represents: District 5 (Glover)

Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Contra Costa CCD

Bryan Thomas
Alternate: Stacie Hinton
Represents: Central Labor Council

Lynn Mackey
Alternate: Vacant
Represents: Office of Education

Other Committee Documents / Items of Interest

Back to Top